Enroll Today! Upcoming Classes:
- September 9, 2019: Our next level 1 class begins on September 9, 2019 and will run for 10 weeks. Class hours are Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday from 9 am to 3 pm. This class will be taught by Bonnie Henshaw and Kaikā Lindsey.
- October 7, 2019: Another class begins on October 7, 2019 and ends December 14, 2019. Class hours are Tuesday & Thursday from 4 pm to 8 pm and Saturday from 9 am to 5 pm. This class will be taught by Kaikā Lindsey.
For state licensing, the State of Hawaii requires a total of 570 hours of instruction, split across two levels:
The therapeutic massage technique focuses on identifying and manipulating individual muscles using a variety of techniques such as Swedish, deep tissue, lomi lomi, and accupressure.
150 total hours – 100 hours theory and demonstration, and 50 hours of class instruction on anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology.
$1,995 plus tax.
Upon completion of Level 1, students may submit an application for apprenticeship to the State of Hawaii. After receiving state approval, students may start Level 2.
The apprenticeship program is where a student develops into a professional therapist. Advanced training techniques fine-tune skills, add new approaches to specific conditions, and offer different modalities of massage. This level is driven by clinic massages. Many students build up a regular clientele during their apprenticeships, and carry these clients with them after licensing. This is a great way to kick start their practice!
420 total hours – 40 hours advanced techniques, 70 hours clinical operation (sanitation, record keeping, office procedures, etc.), and 310 hours hands-on supervised clinical massage.
Clinical massage time is determined by each student’s personal availability. Level 2 generally takes 6 – 12 months to complete, but must be completed within 12 months.
$1,200 plus tax for a 6 consecutive month apprenticeship. If the student is unable to complete the requirements within 6 months, additional months of apprenticeship are available for $225 per month, plus tax.
Upon completion of Level 2, students may submit a licensing application to the state. After passing the state board exam, students will be issued a State of Hawaii Massage Therapist License!